鹤冈

三种精神信仰的家园

佛教

 

鹤冈的佛教主要有两种宗派:

禅宗

真言宗

禅宗佛教的修行者通过冥想和心灵安宁寻求开悟(satori 悟り)。禅宗修行者崇拜释迦牟尼佛(Shakamuni nyorai 釈迦如来),严格遵循释迦牟尼佛的语录。禅宗佛教是大乘佛教的一个分支。

禅宗佛教修行中最常见的是坐禅(zazen 座禅),而坐禅是一种冥想方式。

真言宗佛教的修行者通过秘传修行寻求体证涅槃。

真言宗是密宗的一个神秘分支,崇拜毗卢遮那佛(dainichi nyorai大日如来)。

真言宗遵循保密原则(毕竟被称为佛教的密教(密教)),提倡靠修行而非著作传播教义。真言宗创始人是空海(Kûkai 空海,也称弘法大师)。

真言宗仪式中最常见的是护摩火(gomataki 護摩焚き)和即身佛(sokushinbutsu 即身仏)——活活变成的木乃伊。

Zenpoji

Temple

gyokusenji

temple

nANGAKUJI

TEMPLE

DAINICHIBO

TEMPLE

HONMYOJI

TEMPLE

CHURENJI TEMPLE

废佛毁释

废佛毁释(haibutsukishaku 廃仏毀釈)是一场发生在日本明治维新时期的政治宗教运动,当时民族主义情绪达到顶峰,人们寻求真正的日本身份。由于佛教被视为外来宗教,人们转信神道教——“真正的日本宗教”。1868年3月28日明治政府颁布国家禁令,宣布禁止宗教活动场所拥有神道教和佛教的双重身份,于是日本一些宗教场所几个世纪以来的神佛融合(shinbutsushûgô 神仏習合)被迫瓦解。此后,这些宗教场所的佛教标志、佛像、绘画、经书、建筑被毁,完全成为神道教场所。

鹤冈也不例外,但仍有很多地方同时兼具两教特征。

例如,羽黑山五重塔的佛教标志换成了神道教神像;羽黑山正门随神门(Zuishinmon 随神門)处的巨型仁王(niô 仁王)佛像被换成神道教的丰石窗神(Toyoiwamado no kami 豊石窓神)和栉石窗神(Kushiiwamado no kami 櫛石窓神)。

即身佛木乃伊

这是一种诞生于真言宗佛寺的修行方式,深受修验道修行方式的启发。那些想以肉身成佛的僧侣们(真言宗的主要教义)长期忍受饥饿和脱水,让自己的肉身变干,活活变成木乃伊。

 

神道教

神道教崇拜80万神,这些神明存在于自然界或自然现象中。神道教著作《古事记》(Kojiki 古事記)介绍了日本列岛是如何建成的,以及天皇的神圣血统。

 

神道教与佛教长期共存,日本人对佛和菩萨的崇拜不亚于其对自然神明的崇拜。明治维新后(1868年),神道教成为日本国教,对佛教产生了不利影响。

SANJINGOSAIDEN

shrine

SHONAI jinja

shrine

MT. YUDONO

SHRINE

SUGIO JINJA

SHRINE

Kihi jinja

shrine

TENMANGU

SHRINE

THE COEXISTENCE OF SHINTO AND BUDDHISM IN tsuruoka

神佛融合(Shinbutsushugo 神仏習合)是用以描述神道教与佛教并存关系的一个术语。

鹤冈市是修验道(见下文)的发源地,所以历史上神佛混淆现象尤为突出,而且至今在很多当地平民家中还能发现这一现象:家中同时设有佛教祭坛(butsudan 仏壇)和神道教祭坛(kamidana 神棚),一个位于另一个上面,而在日本通常要将两者分离。

庄内神社及鹤冈军事史

庄内神社建于原鹤冈城(Tsuruogaoka-jo 鶴ヶ岡城)遗址之上。鹤冈城是庄内藩藩长酒井家族的城堡。这个家族军事实力强大,在戊辰战争爆发前他们连一次都没被击败过。

因此,庄内地区的军事和武士文化得以蓬勃发展,并在19世纪初开办了一所藩校:致道馆。戊辰战争的结束标志着武士制度的终结,鹤冈城也被拆毁。庄内神社举办的一些节庆活动,如庄内神社大祭彰显了酒井家族的昔日荣耀。

修验道

 

什么是修验道?

修验道融合了佛教与神道教,它以神道教中的自然崇拜为信仰基础,很多仪式或修行都是受神道教仪式启发,比如焚火净化道场。修验道信徒称为“山伏”(Yamabushi 山伏),意指“在山前鞠躬的人”。山及其自然环境构成修验道的强大元素。修验道必须在山里接受整整一周(女性4天)的修行,以此完全脱离现代世界。

 

修行目的是教人们如何抵抗痛苦(窒息、寒冷、饥饿和疲劳)。修验道信徒不刮胡子、不洗脸、不刷牙、不化妆,也不使用现代技术,以便切身体验身体的本质。修验道在日本主要有三个“圣地”:

大峰山(奈良县)、英彦山(大分县/福冈县)和出羽三山。

鹤冈修验道道场

出羽三山

 金峰山

藏王权现

藏王权现(Zao Gongen 蔵王権現)虽出身于佛教,但却是修验道崇拜的神祗。藏王权现并非起源于印度佛教,被视为纯正的日本佛教神祗。

 

藏王权现的开创者是在金峰山(奈良县)修行的役小角。他是拥有宇宙一切力量的永恒真理神和全能神。

役小角

役小角(En no Ozunu 役小角)是7世纪的一名咒禁师,死于701年,其在世时积极促进神佛融合(shinbutsushugo 神仏習合)并在山中冥想修行。

役小角17岁时在元兴寺学习咒法。他的咒法非常强,据说治好了藤原镰足(一位经常给天皇出谋献策的政治家)久治不愈的疾病。但他的优秀招致嫉妒,导致失败。据说,役小角可以念咒制服任何人或者召唤恶魔来报复那些不顺从者,而这与文武天皇的利益背道而驰。役小角在流放两年后去世。据说他是修验道和山地修行的创始者。蜂子皇子发现了出羽三山,而役小角则把这里变成修验道的圣地(要了解更多,请浏览出羽三山)。

图片版权归Sailko(链接)所有。

Tsuruoka City,

The Blog

DEGAM Tsuruoka Tourism Bureau (General Incorporated Association)

Address: 3-1 Suehiromachi, MARICA East Building, 2nd floor, Tsuruoka, Yamagata 997-0015, JAPAN

TEL: (+81) 0235-26-1218

E-mail: tsuruoka@degam.jp

使用语言:

This website uses icons made by Freepik from www.flaticon.com 

Facebook.png
1200px-Instagram_logo_2016.svg.webp
twitter-2672572_1280.jpg

如规划行程时需要协助,或有关于鹤冈市的问题要问:

请与我们联系 (2个工作日内答复)

TSURUOKA

HOME OF THREE SPIRITUAL STREAMS

BUDDHISM

 

There are two major branches in Tsuruoka's Buddhism practice:

ZEN

SHINGON

Practitioners of Zen Buddhism seek enlightenment (satori 悟り) through meditation and peace of soul. The Buddha they worship is Gautama Buddha (Shakamuni nyorai 釈迦如来) and the practitioners of Zen follow his sayings strictly. Zen Buddhism is one of the branches that belong to the "Great Vehicle": Mahayana.

The practice most commonly known of Zen Buddhism is zazen 座禅, the art of mindful sitting.

Practitioners of Shingon Buddhism seek Nirvana in their present body through esoteric practices.

Shingon is an Esoteric branch of Vajrayana. The Buddha they venerate is Vairocana Buddha (dainichi nyorai 大日如来).

It follows a rule of secrecy (it is called the Buddhism of Secret 密教 after all) that discourages writings and favours spread by practice. Its founder is Kûkai 空海 (also called Kôbô Daishi).

The practices most commonly known in Shingon rites are gomataki 護摩焚き (fire ritual) and sokushinbutsu 即身仏: live mummification.

Zenpoji

Temple

gyokusenji

temple

nANGAKUJI

TEMPLE

DAINICHIBO

TEMPLE

HONMYOJI

TEMPLE

CHURENJI TEMPLE

the BUDDHIST purge

The Buddhist Purge (haibutsukishaku 廃仏毀釈) is a politico-religious movement that took place under the government of Meiji's Restoration, during a period when nationalist resents peaked and when people sought a true Japanese identity. As Buddhism was regarded as a "bastard" religion imported from the outside, people turned towards Shinto, considered as the "real Japanese religion". In 1868, March 28th, Meiji government proclamed the national interdiction of places that possessed a double Shinto-Buddhist identity, a trait that used to be the norm for centuries in several religious sites in Japan (also known as shinbutsushûgô 神仏習合). Since then, Buddhist icons, statues, paintings, writings, buildings, have been destroyed in such places so they could entirely become shinto sites.

Tsuruoka was no exception during Haibutsukishaku, but there are still a lot of places remaining that present both traits.

For instance, the buddhist icons in Mt. Haguro's Five-Storied Pagoda have been replaced by a shintô god's statues, as well as the niô 仁王 buddhist gods's giant statues that were keeping Mt. Haguro's entrance gate (Zuishinmon 随神門) have been replaced by shintô statues of Toyoiwamado no kami 豊石窓神 and Kushiiwamado no kami 櫛石窓神.

SOKUSHINBUTSU MUMMIES

A practice born in Shingon Buddhist Temples, and that is particularly noticeable around Mt. Yudono. Monks who sought to become Buddha in their present body (main principle of Shingon school), endured a long process of hunger and dehydration to dry their flesh out and mummify their bodies by themselves.

 

SHINTO

Shinto worships no less than 8.000.000 gods, all present in nature or natural phenomenons. Its sacred writings: The Kojiki 古事記, relate how Japan archipelago was built and the divine lineage of the Emperor

 

Shinto has long coexisted with Buddhism, and Japanese worshiped Buddhas and Bodhisattvas as much as they venerated the nature's gods. After Meiji Restoration (1868), Shinto became Japan's national religion to the detriment of Buddhism

SANJINGOSAIDEN

shrine

SHONAI jinja

shrine

MT. YUDONO

SHRINE

SUGIO JINJA

SHRINE

Kihi jinja

shrine

TENMANGU

SHRINE

THE COEXISTENCE OF SHINTO AND BUDDHISM IN tsuruoka

Shinbutsushugo 神仏習合 is a term that designates the coexisting relation between Shinto and Buddhism. 

Shinbutsushugo was strong in Tsuruoka, since it is itself the foundation for shugendo (see section below), but it is still visible nowadays in any commoner's house: the Buddhist praying altar (butsudan 仏壇) and the Shinto praying altar (kamidana 神棚) are both in the same room: one on top of another, while the norm in Japan would want them to be separated.

SHONAI SHRINE AND TSURUOKA's military history

Shonai Shrine was built on former Tsuruogaoka-jo 鶴ヶ岡城's foundations. Tsurugaoka-jo was the castle of Shonai Clan's leaders: Sakai Family. This clan had such a well developed military force they didn't loose a war since they came to power, until Boshin War exploded.

For this reason, military and samurai culture was flourishing in Shonai region, and a clan school was opening in early 19th century: Chidokan. When Boshin War ended, it marked the end of the samurai system and Tsurugaoka-jo was demolished. But Shonai Jinja shrine continues to tell Sakai Clan's glory in several festivals and events, such as Shonai Taisai festival.

SHUGENDO

 

What is Shugendo?

Shugendo is a syncretism of Buddhism and Shinto principles. The adoration of nature as it can be found in Shinto is at the base of Shugendo beliefs, and a lot of rituals or practices are inspired from Shingon rites, as for example the use of fire to purify a site. Shugendo monks are called Yamabushi 山伏 : "the ones who bow in front of the mountain". The mountain and its nature are the all mighty elements in Shugendo doctrine. Shugendo practitioners have to untertake a full week (4 days for females) of training, completely cut from the modern word, in the mountains.

 

The training aims to teach someone how to resist pain (suffocation, cold, hunger and fatigue). It is expected from the shugendo apprentices to not shave, wash, brush their teeth, put on makeup nor use technology so they are able to experience what the true nature of their body is.

 

It is considered there are three main "Holy Sites" of Shugendo in Japan:

Ominesan (Nara Prefecture), Hikosan (Oita/Fukuoka Prefectures), and

Dewa Sanzan.

Shugendo sites in Tsuruoka

dewa sanzan

 KINBOZAN

ZAO GONGEN

Zao Gongen 蔵王権現 is the divinity venerated in Shugendo religion, even though he is from Buddhist origins. He is supposed to be an entire Japanese buddhist god, that does not find his origins in Indian Buddhism.

He first appeared to En no Ozunu during his mountain practice in Mt. Kinpu (Nara Prefecture). He is the god of Undying Truth, the All-Mighty god who possesses all the strength of the universe.

EN NO OZUNo

En no Ozuno 役小角 was a sorcerer who lived during the 7th century and died (presumably) in 701 who actively promoted the fusion of Buddhism and Shinto (shinbutsushûgô 神仏習合) and performed meditation in mountains.

At the age of 17, he started studying the art of conjuration in Gangôji Temple. His sorcering skills were so good rumors said he cured Fujiwara no Kamatari (a politician who frequently advised Emperor Tenji) from a long time disease. But his excellence also led to his fall down. According some hearsays, he could curse someone with his only words or summon demons to fulfill revenge on people who did not follow him, which wasn't at Emperor Monmu's tastes at all. He got exiled two years before his death. He is said to be the founder of shugendo and the inventor of mountain training. He made Dewa Sanzan a holy site of shugendo after it was discovered by Prince Hachiko (see Dewa Sanzan to read more).

Photo credits go to : Sailko (link)

Tsuruoka City,

The Blog

DEGAM Tsuruoka Tourism Bureau (General Incorporated Association)

Address: 3-1 Suehiromachi, MARICA East Building, 2nd floor, Tsuruoka, Yamagata 997-0015, JAPAN

TEL: (+81) 0235-26-1218

E-mail: tsuruoka@degam.jp

Spoken languages:

This website uses icons made by Freepik from www.flaticon.com 

Facebook.png
1200px-Instagram_logo_2016.svg.webp
twitter-2672572_1280.jpg

Problems planning your travel? A question about Tsuruoka?

Contact us (answer within 2 working days)